SpeedLimit25

5 Jun

I never thought I would be a fast runner, and I still consider myself to be ‘slow’ in comparison to a lot of other competitive runners. I do compete with others during a race, or even while I am on the treadmill- but the real competition is with myself. Ten years ago, I could barely run a mile, and now as my 25th birthday is on the horizon (JUNE 11th whoohhoo), I have completed a mini triathlon, a few 5K, a handful of 10K, and one half marathon race, and my pace has progressively gotten faster.

Speed is only one aspect of running in any race. Some runners like to start a race at their fastest pace knowing that at the end of the race they may be too tired to give it their all. Other runners like to pace themselves and start the race at their slowest pace possible. My technique is to start the race at a comfortable pace, and then after about a mile, zone in, get into a stride, and hold that through the entire race. To me, it doesn’t matter the length of the race because if I get into a stride, I can keep a pretty decent pace that won’t let me down when I see my finish time.

A website I would like to let other runners know about is jog.fm. On this site you can put in your mile time in minutes and then a list of running songs comes up to help you keep your desired pace. You can set up different playlists and also sample all of the songs before you go ahead and download them.  I have a few favorite songs to run to so right now, here are my top 5:

1. Blake Lewis “Break Anotha” I will search for this song towards the end of my workout to pump me up and keep me going and finish strong.

2. Kat DeLuna ft. Lil’ Wayne “Unstoppable” Just looking at the title, you know why it helps… keep goin!

3. Far East Movement ft. Snoop Dog “If I Was You (OMG)” This song has a great beat, and I like it, so it gets me in a good mood and I stop thinking about how long the run is, or how much I have left..

4. Christina Aguilera ft. Nicki Minaj “Woohoo” Has a great beat, and gets me pumped up in the middle of my run.

5. Maroon 5 “Moves Like Jagger” As much as this song is overplayed on the radio, I never skip over it on my ipod for some reason. It is a good song to run to and short enough not to get bored during my run.

Leave a Reply

