CrossFitOpen

1 Mar

“Are you doing the open,” is a question I have heard a few times and my response was always, “Uhhhh, I don’t know.” Well, in the past week a friend of mine posted an article on Facebook about joining the open and why everyone should do it. After reading it, something clicked, and I signed up for the 2013 CrossFit Games Open. Yes, me- the girl who has only been doing CrossFit for two months, just got her first pull up, and still cannot do some workouts Rx, (Rx = prescribed) signed up for the Open and now can answer that question as, “Yes, I am doing the open,” … “And have no idea what I am getting myself into.”

The Open is a five week program that on every Wednesday, from March 6 to April 3, and Open workout is posted and everyone has until that Sunday to complete the workout. Last years workouts for the open were… for a lack of better words… insane. 12.1 was to complete as many reps as possible in 7 minutes of Burpees. 12.4  was to complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 12 minutes of 150 wall balls, 90 double unders, and 30 muscle ups (anyone have a bucket to throw up in?!). I wont go through all of them, but I can only imagine what they have in stores for this years Open.

If any of you are interested in checking out my progress, or Dan’s here are our Crossfit Games Competition pages. Wish us luck- these next few weeks are going to be brutal.

My CrossFit Game Page: http://games.crossfit.com/athlete/164551

Dan’s CrossFit Game Page: http://games.crossfit.com/athlete/110147

_________________________________________________________________

The blog I read that inspired me to join the open: http://nikimathias.com/body/7-reasons-why-you-should-do-the-crossfit-games-open-yes-you/

4 Responses to “CrossFitOpen”

  1. niki mathias March 1, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    Way to go! You’ll be so glad you signed up! Now the nervous anticipation begins, waiting to see the first workout! == niki

  2. rmnvb1975 March 2, 2013 at 12:34 am #

    Good luck and have fun!

  3. Leslie A March 2, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    12.1 doesn’t sound bad, but that 12.4 one sounds awful. Good luck!!!

  4. M^2 March 8, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    You better work! I finished 13.1, and wow it was serious. But I was so happy to have done.my best AND see where i could improve!
    Revel in the cheering, the encouragement, the grunting (lol)! Just have fun!

Leave a Reply

