BeTheBestYouCanBe

8 Mar

The 2013 CrossFit Open has begun, and two words that come to mind are: Reality Check. I have always been a very competitive person, and although I know in the back my head that I am not the best; I want to still be the best. I witnessed a girl last night doing 13.1 which is a combination of burpees and snatches and while I watched her I felt like it would be so easy and I kept telling myself, “you got this.” And then after practicing snatching at different weights, once I had a 75lbs bar I tried snatching it up, and was defeated. Not once, but multiple times and never got the bar over my head. I did not let this discourage me. I used this as encouragement and set a high bar (pun intended) for myself of what I want to get on Saturday when I am judged doing the actual workout.

Any kind of workout that you may be participating in, whether it is a marathon, a triathlon, a 5kwalk/run,  something I have always kept in my thoughts is that there will always be someone better than you, and there will always be someone worse than you, but if you give it your all you should feel great about it. (I just need to also remember this for myself and live by it).

13.1 Crossfit Open Workout:

17 minute AMRAP of:
40 Burpees
30 Snatch, 75 / 45 lbs
30 Burpees
30 Snatch, 135 / 75 lbs
20 Burpees
30 Snatch, 165 / 100 lbs
10 burpees
Max rep Snatch, 210 / 120 lbs

AMRAP is as many reps as possible

Leave a Reply

