TheOpenFinale

3 Apr

There is much anticipation of what the final workout will be for the 2013 CrossFit Games Open. I cannot believe that five weeks ago, the first workout was announced and I watched the live feed from class not believing what I was seeing. Scared. Nervous. A sense of, “what the hell am I doing.” All of these emotions ran through my body while I watched Julie Foucher show the world how 13.1 would go. And here I am today, excited, anticipation running high, and a weird sad feeling knowing the open is coming to an end.

The Open has really shown me what I am capable of, and has pushed me to limits I never thought I would. The Open has made me a better athlete, has got my butt into better shape, and has made me wanting more. It has also brought some amazing people into my life, and brought me closer to others. I want to mention a few people who have made an impact on me during The Open.

First and foremost- Dan, I never would have joined CrossFit if it wasn’t for you. I love that now when we come home at night; we get excited talking about the WOD, what paleo meals we can cook for the following week, and  I want to thank you for how much you have pushed me during the Open WOD- screaming at me to get one more rep. You are the first person I look for after I finish my Open WOD, the only person I want to watch if you are competing, but the last person I can take advice from. 🙂 Thank you and I love you.

Next I want to thank Katie for posting the blog about 7 reasons to sign up for the open and for judging me during 13.2. This blog is what made me sign up for the open, and 13.2 was the hardest one for me. When I would no-rep because I would not bring my feet together, I wanted to scream, but you kept me calm and told me to keep going, and that I’ll get it the next time. Thanks again.

I would also like to thank my other judges: Steve, Bill, Lindsey, Eamon, and Brian. You all pushed me to do better and never let me stop believing in myself. You all have your own individual ways of getting into my head, and it all helps. I am truly privileged to have had you as judges, and also trainers outside of the Open.

One last individual I would like to thank is Kelli. This was our first-ever CrossFit Open, and we wanted to go head-to-head in 13.1 to push each other and although I had to re-do the workout you still came to the gym the very next day to cheer me on, and have cheered me on in every other open workout. I am thankful to have you not only as a gym buddy, but now a shopping buddy, and most importantly- a friend. You’re a really cool chick, and I’ve enjoyed talking to you, hanging out with you, and getting to know you outside of the gym.  Now- lets prepare for the 4/20 CF6 competition!!!

Now, lets pop some popcorn and see what they have in stores for our last workout!! Hooray to 13.5!!

Leave a Reply

