Life

26 Apr

I didn’t know how to write, or really what to write when the Boston Marathon Bombing took place last week. Being a previous half marathon runner, I am always interested in the Boston Marathon, the elite times blow me away and actually had the webpage up that day seeing how fast some of the top runners finished. When news struck that two bombs had went off, I could not even believe it.  It was a sad day, and a depressing week any time I would turn on the news. It made me realize that life is fragile, and it’s destiny is not always in your own hands… Unfortunately.

So after two weeks, I finally put in my ear buds, and went for a run.  At this time last year I was running about 4 miles a day training for the Colfax Half Marathon, and during today’s run I had the victims of the Boston Marathon, the bombers, and my own destiny on my mind.

Right now, at this very moment I have a great job, close friends, a small little family, a large, loving, extended family, a house which is the place I call home, and I am healthy. Really- what more could I ask for? Nothing really comes to mind. Except, maybe I want to be able to do a muscle up, or countless burpees without feeling like absolute crap. (I can dream right?!).

Speaking of muscle-ups and burpees, I have some exciting news! Last weekend I participated in my very first competition and ended up not doing so bad. My team placed fourth out of six and now I cannot wait to do another. Oh, and I finally got through my plateau of weight loss, and weighed in at 128lbs. Not that I care about how much I weigh anymore, but I have not been able to get under 130 in two years.

I hope that everyone reading this takes a moment to realize the world we live in is a crazy place, and life is fragile, but to look at the positives and although cliché – live every day like it is your last.

Here are some photos from the competition:

crossfit_teamcomp

 

lifting snatch

Leave a Reply

