HealthNut

18 Jun

Three weeks ago, if you would have asked me what my favorite food was, I would have listed off a handful of unhealthy foods and desserts along with my all-time favorite Starbucks drink, a Toffee Nut Latte. And now, after only a few short weeks I can tell you that my favorite foods now consists of all-natural peanut butter (Justin’s Nut Butter is my favorite: http://www.justins.com/), coconut oil glazed sweet potatoes on the grill, and almost any kind of protein tops my list. It is weird that only after a few weeks my love for Mexican food has been replaced, and it didn’t hit me until this past weekend when Dan and I went out to dinner to a Mexican food restaurant, and afterwards we both admitted to not enjoying ourselves because it was so bad for us.

A lot of people think it is hard or expensive to eat the way Dan and I have started to eat. But to be honest, if you take the time out to cook your own meals, and spend a little money on extra protein, your body will start to change, and so will your attitude.

Now, let me back up for a second. I can’t take all the credit for starting this new way of eating. Your Life Extraordinary (https://yourlifeextraordinary.com/) is running a 7 week nutrition challenge at our gym and although I didn’t officially sign up, a friend of mine did, so Dan and I decided to go along with their diet plan and see how we liked it. So far, so good. I am not telling you that you must eat like this, but the basics are that you should only eat protein, vegetables, and good fats. Yes- this means cutting sugar, carbs and those zero calorie/fat free drinks. Reading this, you may think I am crazy. But I am telling you, I do not crave the sugar, or the carbs. The hard part is adding fat to my diet. I am a victim to the low-cal, fat-free, sugar-free foods/drinks and so to add avocado to my lunches, or whipping cream to my coffee was really odd to me, and hard to do. But now- it makes since. Fat keeps you full longer, and then your body recognizes it as a fuel source and then goes for the stored fat in your body to burn.

So, boil some eggs, cook your lunches a week in advance, and plan out your dinners so you do not fall victim to fast food, or not eating breakfast- and I promise you in a few weeks, you’ll feel great too.

Leave a Reply

