LifePartner

10 Sep

Welp, Dan and I competed in our first Crossfit competition together this past weekend, and we didn’t yell at each other once. We were actually very successful as a team, placing 8th out of 18 teams and I couldn’t have asked for a better partner in this competition as well as a better life partner.

During the day, when I wasn’t sweating my brains out I was watching everyone and a few people or teams really stood out to me that I just couldn’t keep my eyes off of, and I’d like to individually call you out, in a good way of course.

1. Hallie. Your form is impeccable even when you are dead tired. Watching you do your 48 KB snatches and your I-don’t-even-know-how-many bear complexes, you never let your form fail and you made it look easy.  You are one strong chick. Definitely Regionals 2014 contention. Bad ass.
 
2. DeCO Destroyers. In the first WOD, you guys were next to us and you pushed us every round. Leslie, your thrusters and front squats were so fast, and your partners box jumps blew me away. Going side by side was great, but catching my breath has never been so rough.
 
3. Veronica. Cheering you and Bill on during your Toes To Bar/ KB Swing WOD was great until you ripped your hands. I couldn’t bare to watch you struggle on that bar, and so running to my bag to grab my gloves and telling you to just put them on made me look at you in a whole new light. No matter what injuries you have, there is nothing a little tape and neosporin can’t fix. And then to watch you get 88, or 89 double unders AFTER a beer… you are a trooper. Congrats on your 4th place finish – you deserve 1st in my book.
 
4. Dan. I never want to go up against you 1 for 1 on bear complex again. You were the best teammate, and really talked me through all of the workouts, but man, you fly when it comes to the Bear Complex. Every time I would put the bar down, you would be done with your set before I could take my second breath. Although it pushed me to go faster, every time I had to pick up that bar I wanted to smack you and tell you to go slower. (But I am glad I didn’t). You really impressed me picking up that 100lb Rage ball, doing 79 toes to bar in 6 minutes, and even when you were tired, you rubbed my feet during the competition. You are the love of my life and I couldn’t thank you enough. So when is our next comp? 😉
One Response to “LifePartner”

  1. Gerlinde Bullock September 12, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    Great recap, Kyla…so sorry I had to miss being there in person…you and Dan are such an inspiration, not just at CrossFit, but as a young couple – love you too very much – Mama

Leave a Reply

