SweatItOut

2 Oct

There is no science for sweating out your sickness. At least I haven’t taken the time out to do any research on it. Shoot- Google it. There may be studies showing what is better- sweating it out or resting. Either way, I am not one to rest and to sit around enabling my mind to focus on my sickness. That small, temporary boost of serotonin from being active is all I need to get me a few extra hours of feeling great.

This post comes to you because, well.. I don’t feel great today. A small tickle in my throat started in the middle of the night between Monday and Tuesday  and I blew it off as nothing. I ran 3 miles yesterday in the middle of the day and being in the sun really did boost my overall sense of well-being, but then towards the end of the day my immune system started to crash, and a before-bedtime-pharmacy-run prevailed. Man, that nighttime alka-seltzer plus stuff really made me sleep like crap. And yes, I am not blaming my sickness, I am blaming the medicine. Ironic.

I am one stubborn person, and no matter what illness I may be facing I just cannot sit still. I would like to know what you all do to get you through your toughest days. Please- comment or write me a personal message. I’d love to hear what works for you.

And- to anyone disappointed in the fact that it is only Wednesday- maybe this video will give you some inspiration to rise and shine and to keep moving.

One Response to “SweatItOut”

  1. nicolemkurz October 2, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    What I’ve always been told is that if it’s in your head (ie, stuffy nose, headache, sore throat) it’s ok to workout. If it’s in your chest, it’s not. And if you have a fever at all, rest and hydrate.

    I’m super stubborn too, so I can relate. Yoga is always a great option for days when you want to move, but you feel like crap. 🙂

Leave a Reply

