WinterWODFest

25 Jan

Quick back story: a woman at our gym registered, but could not participate in the Winter WOD Fest that CrossFit Eminence puts on – and wasn’t able to get a refund, so 16 hours before the competition I took her spot. Winter WOD Fest is a two-day competition that involves three workouts on Saturday and two on Sunday and what I come to the realization of is that it is no joke, and it is a competition you don’t just do on a whim. A few words to describe my first day in the competition are: 1. Overwhelming 2. Humbling 3. Eye-Opening.

1. Overwhelming

These girls are the bees-knees and because I am such a competitive person I get the jitters, can’t eat, and just want to impress people… And today- I didn’t even really impress myself, but that is just because I did not perform as well as I wanted to. It is an overwhelming feeling to feel unimpressed with yourself. I know what I am capable of, but my Mind,-yes I am referring to my mind as a person- really took over today and was a big, nasty, bitch. The mind can be a real downer sometimes, and now after today, on top of my long list of things I need to work on at the gym, Getting Mentally Strong is now on top.

2. Humbling

Some days I walk into the gym, crush the WOD, post my results and feel on top of the world. Today- everyone there was most likely one of the top girls at their gym in something, and everyone brought their A-game. It is a humbling experience to workout with some of the best CrossFit Athletes in Colorado and I look at the women with amazement and determination to one day, be like them. one day….

3. Eye-Opening

“Oh, these WODs are tailored for me.” Wrong. Every WOD killed me today. One of them even made me throw up for the first time ever. Does this mean I need to push myself harder in every day WODs. Yes. Does this mean I was naive. Yes. Are these bad things? No. Every competition I have done so far has been eye opening and this is a good thing. I’ll even say it is a great thing. I see what others do to prepare, I notice what others do to be better, and I can only take notes.

CrossFit has really changed my life and doing these competitions will only make me stronger – mentally and physically. I realize this post may seem like a pitty party, but for me, writing about my experiences help. And I hope this helps someone else who may have had a bad workout, came in dead last in a competition, or is struggling. We all have those days and we all just need to keep our heads high, breathe, and know that we are strong and as corny as it may sound- whatever doesn’t kill you, only makes you stronger.

Leave a Reply

