14.3Recap

18 Mar

With St. Patrick’s Day this past weekend, Dan and I both knew we wanted to celebrate on Saturday downtown, so we decided to give 14.3 a shot on Friday. This was before we had listened to any tips or tricks on how to tackle 14.3 which I liked because I could go about it my way. Come to find out- my way isn’t always the best way. 14.3 went like this — 8 minutes of — 10 Deadlifts (95lbs) 15 box jumps (20”), 15 Deadlifts (135lbs) 15 box jumps (20”), 20 Deadlifts (155lbs) 15 box jumps (20”), 25 Deadlifts (185lbs) 15 box jumps (20”), 30 Deadlifts (205lbs) 15 box jumps (20”), 35 Deadlifts (225lbs) 15 box jumps. I got through 8 deadlifts at 185lbs before the clock hit 8 minutes at my time was up.

 

My original game plan was to do box jumps, but then stop off the box (because our gym doesn’t teach bounding – so I am unfamiliar with this) and then for the first set of deadlifts to go unbroken, break up the second set into 5’s, and then do singles. Thennnnnnn Dan and I watched The Outlaw Way “14.3 Strategy & Tips” Vimeo video and decided to do the workout one more time on Monday using their tips. For my second go around I did step ups – jump offs for the box jumps and tried as hard as I could to not do singles at all – which went great until my set at 185lbs where I did singles because I was so tired and the weight felt so heavy. I ended up getting six more reps on my second try with a final rep count of 106 and a tiebreak time of 4:38. Thanks Outlaw. It helped.

 

Also, for the workouts, different brands are being represented when I do the workouts and this week I wore a shirt from Your Life Extraordinary (YLE). I am participating in a 90-day body composition challenge with YLE and am half way through! I have seen differences in the way my clothes are fitting and in my all-around well-being. Go check them out at yourlifeextraordinary.com, or find them on Facebook by searching LifeYLE.  A quick bio on them is right here:

 

“Your Life Extraordinary (YLE) provides employee wellness and retention strategies for companies that are looking for a unique user experience, personal coaching for each employee and continued enthusiasm past the first month of implementation.” YLE also “offers individual personal training sessions and nutrition coaching.”

 

I hope you all enjoyed 14.3! Only two more weeks of this madness!!

 

IMG_0110

With Annah Borak – CoFounder of YLE

Leave a Reply

