MuscleUps

8 Dec

In the 2015 CrossFit Games Open, there was this workout that included muscle ups and for those four days after the announcement, everyone and their mother was trying to get their first muscle up so that they could continue being ranked on the Rx Leader board. I was one of those people. I got a lesson from one of our coaches about what I needed to do, because frankly I thought I was the perfect candidate to get one. I could do strict pull ups. I could do strict ring dips. What was I not getting right?  I had four days to get it,and damn it, I was determined. When the day came, I still was unable to do a muscle up, so I put my ego aside and did the scaled version of the workout. It was something like 150 wall balls, jumping rope and maybe something else. Right after I completed my work, I decided to play on the rings again, all with a judge watching- just in case. And holy crap- as the second wave of competitors were going, I got a muscle up, and then continued to get two more in the time cap. I was able to take a total score of 3 as Rx which was a better score than any number in the scaled division. Awesome.

Well… Nine months pass and I lost it. I couldn’t get another muscle up to save my life. I would take tips and tricks from people, try them out and then just head back over to the rings with a band and work on technique. False Grip. Arms in close. Drive through the hips. Squeeze your butt. Flare out more. Flare out less. Hips to rings. Any of these- we have all heard it. Yesterday (12/7/2015) I went into the gym a little tired, but continued with my training. For the past few months I have been following Invictus Competitors training with some other supplemental things on the side. One of those consistent supplements is a 12-minute alternating EMOM of strict pull ups, handstand push-ups, ring dips, and push-ups every Monday the past three weeks in a row.  Last night consisted of a lot of shoulders and upper body movements, but at the end of the workout I decided to jump on the rings and give ‘em a swing. First try- nope. Not happening. Second try- still nothing. Then two girls from the gym give me two great tips. One that I had heard before and a new one. Angela; who is an awesome coach and is married to Joe reminded me of what he has told us before, “pretend you are wiping paint off your forearms – keep them close,” and Monique, an awesome athlete at our gym told me to stop flaring out so much. With those two things, and VERY warm shoulders I hit my first muscle up since The Open. And then continued to do four more!

I am writing this post to remind myself to keep practicing or else they will be gone again. I am also reminding all of you crossfitters to keep trying, never give up, and look at me- even after three years of crossfit, there are always things to work on.

Leave a Reply

