16.1

1 Mar

20 minute AMRAP of 25ft Overhead Walking (OHW) lunges with 65lbs, 8 Burpees over the Bar, 25ft OHW lunges, 8 Chest-to-bar (C2B) pull ups.

This was the first workout of the 2016 CrossFit Games Open. This year is my fourth year doing the CrossFit Games Open and when it was first announced I was pretty excited about it. I could do all of the movements, I knew 20 minutes would feel like an eternity, but realized I just had to pace myself and not go too quickly out of the gates.

16.1

Photo By Kyle Smith

Everyone’s experience with any workout is different. For this particular workout the hardest part for me was the burpees. Many people I talked to said that the C2B was their rest, and others mentioned it was the worst part. “The lunges weren’t horrible once you tricked your brain to pick up the bar and put it over head,” but Monique did mention, “but it took me a good five-ten seconds to stare at the bar and to tell myself to do so.”

This year’s open feels different. My training has changed from doing the daily WOD at the gym at random times to now incorporating some Invictus Competition training on Mondays and Tuesdays, and also adding in some other types of workouts to my weekly routine such as Barre, Yoga, Running, and most recently Lagree. It also feels different because of the people.

In 2013 and 2014 I had the best workout partner ever. Kelli. She is my best friend and we did everything together. Pretty much every workout for the Open we did side by side, or at least cheered each other on. We would talk strategy, she would beat me at most of them, and then we partied when it was over. It was fun doing it with her and having that friendly competition. In 2015 it was different. Kelli had moved to Washington DC and I was sort of lost for a few months without her. I still enjoyed myself and loved the competition between me and other people at the gym, but it was definitely different. At that time I had started to get closer with Angela, but it really wasn’t until after the Open when we really started to bond. Now… in 2016 I have a very strong female bond with a few ladies at the gym and couldn’t me more amped about doing it with them. We work out together 2-4 times a week, with some of them I have a 1,000+ group chat going daily between us that mainly consists of us talking about food, but even outside of this group chat the female game is strong at CrossFit South Denver. I remember Hallie blogging about people who stood out in 2013, and I would just like to highlight a few people this week.

Jess– Welp, you proved all of us right and for 16.1 you were the top female athlete. You are an amazing girl and I am happy we have become such great friends. You are an amazing compliment to the gym and your smiley, bubbly attitude pairs very well with your strong badass-ness.

Angela– Love love love you. Although I know C2B are not your favorite, you really pushed yourself and I was so happy to be doing the workout at the same time as you. Although I would have loved to cheer you on, I think we gave each other a little push going in the final heat together. For your sake- I hope HSPU make an appearance this year. Or overhead squats.

Monique– Girrrlllllll. You get the award for most improved athlete. It has been pretty amazing seeing how far you have come in such a short period of time. I am calling it- you will be the first girl I witness to clean & jerk over 200lbs at the gym.

Hallie– Thanks for judging me on both of my attempts in 16.1. You have this amazing sixth sense and really know how to push someone and also keep people true to the standard without pissing anyone off. C2B can be hard to judge sometimes, and you judged me last year when you and I both probably remember I had a few no-reps, so this year when you told me my C2B’s were ‘easy to judge’ I took that as the highest compliment. 16.1 part two was a million times worse than the first attempt, and even though it only got me one more rep, I am happy that you and I are tied in 11th place together at the gym, and 631 in the SW Region.

Leave a Reply

