16.2

9 Mar

16.2 displayed a lot of awesome qualities in people that I have not seen before at the gym. I see these people work out daily, but yet those exact same people blew my mind during our Friday Night Lights event. On Thursday night when the workout was announced, I liked it. I liked it even though I wasn’t sure I would make it past the first round. The workout included Toes-To-Bar (T2B), Double Unders (DU), and Squat Cleans. If you know me, you know that DUs are in my wheelhouse while anything squat related is sometimes a struggle. I enjoy squat cleans, but sometimes my ankles and hips say the opposite.

Friday came and first I was surprised with an awesome gift from my friend Angela. It was a tank top that says, “Live Your Life,” and it is sort of an inside joke between us and our significant others, but it made me so happy and I wore it during the workout. I warmed up a little bit but when I started to watch the first few people do the workout, this is what got me excited.

Jesse – While I was warming up Angela came into the front room and yelled, “Jess is on round three- she is the only one in Rx who has made it this far!” I dropped my bar and came to watch. First clean at 145lbs, awesome. Second clean at 145lbs, bad ass. Third clean and holy shit she lost grip. You’re so awesome, you said, “I’m okay,” and kept going. I was so proud of you for hitting 5 cleans, but what I am more amazed by is your ability to get to the third round doing mostly single t2b. wow.

Shawn L- In the exact same heat as Jesse, you were flying through your rounds. Dan told me that you mentioned you had never cleaned “that much weight” before and then hit it twice. The Open does this to people. People PR like crazy, and I think you deserve it. After learning about everything you have gone through over the past year and talking to you more on Saturday, you are seriously so inspirational and I cannot wait to share your story in April with our gym via our monthly newsletter.

Jane – That amazing mom strength. 429 in the masters division. That is remarkable. What I thought was the coolest thing though was when you and your daughter cheered on Samantha right before hand, the entire time not letting her quit when she probably wanted to. From a mom to a mother-to-be it was really sweet to watch that bond between you two.

Kyle S- From someone who didn’t get past the first round due to DUs, to someone who got into the second round on Monday goes to show that practice helps. Practice does not necessarily get you to be perfect, but it gets you somewhere. DUs do not come easy to some people and to watch you practice for a good hour on Saturday morning and for you to take my 5,000 tips I am proud of you and hope you continue to practice them, because in the few months you have been at CFSD you have grown to be such an amazing athlete with an incredible drive to ‘figure shit out.’

Oh, and if you came to read my story about my performance on 16.2 I completed the workout twice and both times I made it to the second round with the exact same amount of reps. 170. As I tackled the workout two different ways, I learned that 170 was the best score I could get and I am happy with it. Of course I would have loved to get to the third round, but hell, everyone always wants to do better.

 

Leave a Reply

