16.3

15 Mar

For the first time in the CrossFit Game Open, Bar Muscle Ups were introduced. Luckily for me, those came a lot easier than ring muscle ups.

Before I get into detail, I need to give Invictus Competition training some kudos. Their training is pretty spot on with how the open will work. We have done many workouts with bar muscle ups, overhead walking lunges, snatches for time, power cleans while fatigued, and this year I have felt more prepared than ever, really- thanks to them.

On Friday March 11th during our Friday Night Lights throwdown there was a lot of stuff going on around me, but just like every week, certain things stuck out. First the bad, then the good. We had a few people rip their hands during practice and during the workout which is never fun, and I also witnessed a lot of people trying really hard to get their first every Bar Muscle Up, but personally didn’t get to see anyone actually get one. To all of you who couldn’t get one – This is what the open is for. To expose weaknesses. A year ago I definitely did not have a bar muscle up, now luckily I do, but that is only because I have been practicing them for about that long. If you put in the time and practice, they will come. As for the good, let me repeat- I witnessed a lot of people trying really hard to get their first Bar Muscle up.

Kassi- You totally have one. If you hadn’t started to blister during your warm up, I know with a little bit of practice, the bar MU is yours. Your pull ups and chest to bars are awesome, you have the momentum to get your body up there we just gotta get the fundamentals down for you to get up and over that bar. Maybe next time drink your beer before the workout. Just kidding.

Angela- I know today you have more than one bruise, but I hope that you are determined to get that first bar MU soon. Like we kept saying, you are damn close- you just need the confidence and the pull to get it. When the open is over, we are going to get that upper body just as mobile and strong as your lower body. Even though you didn’t get one, I am still proud of you for trying and trying and trying.

Patrick- I am not sure I have ever seen you push yourself as hard as you did this past Friday. I could see that by 6:30 you had entered that dark place and really listened to us to not drop the damn bar. Seeing you in the fetal position for longer than the workout lasted was pretty awesome and you should be proud of yourself to getting to that spot that many of us try to get to but never really do.

Bradley- Thanks for pushing me just a little bit harder on Monday when we both decided to redo the workout. I knew you had it in you to do better and you really helped set a pace for me in order to get one more rep. You and I together have come a long way over the years, and it was a lot of fun going head-to-head.

As for my performance, I can officially say that this is the first time that I have ever submitted a top 3 team score. In my 4th year doing the open, I have never been a top girl at the gym. Ever. For this workout I completed 5 rounds, plus 9 snatches submitting a score of 74 reps with a 6:28 tie break time. I stuck to my game plan both times I did the workout and did the snatches unbroken, and singles on the Bar MUs. I do not know how to link them yet, so I wasn’t going to attempt it now in a competition setting. Afterward, my forearms and grip was shot and my shoulders were also on fire. No matter the pain, the feeling of being on top for once felt pretty great.

Gosh.. What is left for movements? Box jumps. Wall balls. Deadlifts. Kettlebell swings. Ring Muscle Ups. Handstand Push Ups. Heaven forbid they do pistols.. That’ll be when I am in the same boat as some of you were in this week.

Leave a Reply

